seagulls

5:40 am.

how lovely is that?

felt my arm burn so i opened my eyes

looking at the red blinking lights

knowing I still have time

before the masks slip on

……..

6:30 am.

pee break.

……..

8:13 am.

fun is almost over

i see the light through the blinds

i never hated seagulls as much as this moment

acting. quacking. preening.

when I do that people judge

i go back to sleep.

……..

10:56 am.

the room is cold and the animals whine

and that creaky creepy door is my only protection

i try to burrow

but the sun found me

angry at everything around me

especially that stupid seagull.

……..

~ by jennitt on August 8, 2010.

15 Responses to “seagulls”

  1. wow,
    love the image,
    seagull may be stupid,
    but you are smart…

    • Hello there!

      Thank you for your comment on my poem! I really appreciate it!
      More to come soon….

      Have a great day!
      J.

  2. its funny how different things work for different people, birds are my favourite and the noise of a seagull makes me yearn for the beaches and the places where i am happiest..when i am depressed they can be my cure..well written..cheers Pete

    • Hello Pete!

      Thank you for your comment on my poem.

      Regarding your comment, I think that is fantastic the sound of a seagull can be a cure for your glooms! Actually, in this poem, the seagull just happened to be the thing that is annoying to me early in the morning hours, but it very well could have been something else like a loud rattling furnace or wind chimes going crazy in the wind. I too love beaches and seagulls aren’t half bad when they aren’t interrupting your sleep!

      Cheers!
      Jen

  3. Lovely poem, it made me remember all the mornings I wake up grumpy (except I get to be angry at my neighbor’s stupid chickens.)

    • Hello there!

      Thank you for your comment on my poem! I really appreciate it! Yes, animals in the early hours can be painful sometimes. I could only image what a pen full of rowdy chickens must sound like!)
      More to come soon….

      Have a great day!
      J.

  4. image is great 🙂 and i love the way the poem’s broken up by time, adds an extra dimension of reality. very nice.

    • Hello there!

      Thank you for your comment on my poem! I am happy that you enjoyed it!
      More to come soon….

      Have a great day!
      J.

  5. This made me laugh…6.30am LOLOLOL…excellent write and happy rally my friend x

    • Hello there buttercup!

      Thank you for your comment on my poem! I am happy that you enjoyed it!
      More to come soon….

      Have a great day!
      J.

  6. “acting. quacking. preening.
    when I do that people judge”

    I love the idea of being judged by a different standard. Don’t we all have a bit of an animal nature? Love the poem.

    • Hello there ladyg83!
      (I take it you are a lady gaga fan!) Awesome!

      Thank you for your comment on my poem! I am happy that you enjoyed it! Yes, if only we could parade around life ruffling our feathers without a care in the world… 🙂
      More to come soon….

      Have a great day!
      J.

  7. eh? seagull stupid? haha ok! got your point!

  8. So glad to see you in,
    Happy Wednesday!

    your poetry is delicious..
    Cheers.
    Claim awards/treats via my third entry at potluck week 11, #115..
    have fun!

  9. I had the same hate on for two crows the other morning. Loved your poem.

Leave a Reply

 
