to the skies

 

________

 

 

once you stood infront of me

opened my eyes so my heart could see

energy all around me

you gave all your love

now let your mind rest and your body be

 

_____

 

 

 

the tears i shed burned through the ground

i look at heaven and i don’t say a sound

watching you

watching me

 

________

 

 

 

i’ll take the energy you’ve given me

run through me

take me to that place you’ve been

even though you may be gone

i’ll always see you as so strong

 

_______

 

 

 

so everytime i need you

i pray for you

i look to the skies

i look to the skies

 

 

 

~ by jennitt on February 3, 2009.

3 Responses to “to the skies”

  1. I wrote this a couple of years ago, prior to the death of my grandpa. I wrote this then because I knew that one day my grandpa wouldn’t be beside me, but that his love and energy would endure and live on.

    My grandpa lived until he was 100. He was such an amazing and loving person. I will cherish him forever.

  2. A very positive poem. You have celebrated your grandpa’s legacy. That’s how I want to be after my death, celebrated. Your lines are very powerful.

  3. love the imagery of this piece.
    keep it up…

    You are represented as fresh poets to explore, yet not a participant until you place your entry in…
    You are invited to attend poets rally week 34, read the agreement and place your link in when you are ready, have fun! Poetry awards are given upon participation on or by Sunday.
    Happy Friday!

Leave a Reply

 
